DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning all,

My name is Garrett, I am 38 and live about 40 minutes north of Ann Arbor, Michigan. I work as an engineering manager at an automotive interiors plant.

I joined this forum to start doing research on the concept of adding an electric motor/motors to the rear of a FWD vehicle in the hopes of creating a occasional use AWD system for speeds below 10mph. This is mainly due to where I live. I live off of a dirt road that is one of the last to get plowed during the winter months (not that our current winter has provided any snow) and have a steep driveway with a kink in the middle. So if I don't have AWD to at least get up my driveway I am in trouble. It's not often but there are times when it is necessary regardless of snow tires. My wife had a FWD vehicle at one time that we put good snow tires on and it would still not get up some days.

I currently drive a 2010 F150 but eventually I would like to get into a van. It suits my hobbies and lifestyle better than a truck. Problem is if you look at a Transit they don't make AWD and Sprinters are available but cost so much more when you add that option. And the money is hard to spend when I really only need the AWD/4x4 capability 2% of my yearly driving at most. other than that FWD would be fine. Which lead me to look a the Ram Promaster. I like the funky look and the FWD platform suits my everyday driving habits but I know it still would not perform well in harsh winter conditions around my house.

So that's why I want to start researching the possibility of adding some type of rear wheel drive system that would only be needed on the rare occasion of crap weather and an unshoveled driveway.

Okay I think that's long winded enough. Thanks for having me!

·
Registered
6,222 Posts
Welcome!

about 40 minutes north of Ann Arbor, Michigan.