DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I just joined - I have an EV project that I haven't really started DOING things on, but so far just researching. My day job is as a software engineer, and I also have done plenty of electrical engineering work - but never an EV.

The high level:
I want an electric Delorean. An EV DMC. The Delorean is an iconic car, but it doesn't take much searching to find how unreliable and underpowered they are. They are also bumping up against being 40 years old now, and while parts are easily found and repaired, a typical Delorean engine needs a complete rebuild by this point, just to bring it back to roughly 100HP at the wheels.

I also don't want to go the normal route of buying a miss mash of parts - a motor from here, an inverter from this place, batteries from another place, etc. My plan is to use the entire drive train from a donor EV now that the prices are low enough for very competent drive trains.

I've considered all of the popular EVs - iMiev, Nissan Leaf, Kia Soul EV, Fiat 500E, Ford Focus EV (motors all too low power), Jaguar iPace, Tesla Model X, Tesla Model S D (dual drive units wont fit into a Delorean), and single motor Tesla Model S, Model 3, BMW i3, Kona EV, Chevy Bolt (all are promising options).