DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new to EV conversions, and am by no means a bike mechanic, but I've wrenched on a few classic cars and have experience building battery packs for a solar system. I've wanted to make an electric motorcycle conversion, and a project 1979 Kawasaki Z650 found its way into my possession and so here I am.

The bike is heavy, according to what I could find, the rolling frame is ~300lbs. I'm hoping to reach at least 60 mph (95km) and with a range of at least 60 miles, hopefully a bit more. Before we get into specifics of what can physically fit on my bike and what I can comfortably afford, I wanted to know what sort of battery capacity/motor combination I would need to reach this goal. After doing research without fully understanding how it would work out, I settled on a custom 72v, 200ah battery bank with 200a continuous draw, and a goldenmotor's HPM-10KW 72v motor. I was hoping this would be overkill, but honestly don't know enough to tell.

Also, I'm not wanting insane acceleration, but I figured that can be toned down using the motor controller.

Please let me know if I'm super far off with my plan, or if there's a better way of going about it. I really appreciate the help!

P.S. I feel it's necessary to include a few pictures of the bike:
PXL_20210711_003933547.jpg
PXL_20210711_003941567.jpg

·
Registered
6,222 Posts
After doing research without fully understanding how it would work out, I settled on a custom 72v, 200ah battery bank with 200a continuous draw, and a goldenmotor's HPM-10KW 72v motor. I was hoping this would be overkill, but honestly don't know enough to tell.

Also, I'm not wanting insane acceleration, but I figured that can be toned down using the motor controller.
Fortunately, you won't get insane anything with a 10 kW motor. ;)