DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i'm new to EV conversion and am slowly amassing all the info I need so that I can eventually convert my car. I have a 1968 Dodge Dart Sedan with a 6 cylinder engine. Luckily it's a 'compact' and weighs 2866 lbs, without the engine its just under 2400 lbs. My question is whether an AC-50 will work for this application, or if there is something better. My car shipped with 110 HP and 185 ft/lbs of torque, and the ac-50 is rated at 71hp and 120 ft/lbs. Now, I don't really care about performance since this is my commuter car. Will this be enough? What are your ideas?

·
Registered
46 Posts
A couple of questions- Does it have a manual transmission? How much high speed driving will you be doing?

My answer is yes it will work particularly when you say you don't care that much about performance.. Others say it will be under powered. I put the 51 in an '86 Mazda pickup and used 1/2 of a Leaf battery pack at 96V. It meets our needs easily which is around town driving, some at 50mph and towing (short distance) and launching/ recovering our 32' trimaran sail boat. The truck weighs 3000 # with me in it.
We drive in economy mode all the time and get about 3 1/2+ miles per KWH. That is stop and go and up some hills.

I would recommend upping the voltage to at least 120 or 144. 120 could be made out of a full Leaf battery put in 3 sub packs in parallel- best is 3 modules in parallel and 16 sets of 3 in series. Each Leaf module has 4 cells in it and puts out 7.5 nominal so 16x 7.5= 120V
With batteries and motor you will add at least 600 #.
There are other motor options but for me the AC 50 was a great first conversion- pretty much plug and play,

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A couple of questions- Does it have a manual transmission? How much high speed driving will you be doing?