DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All! Newbie here v keen to build an EV. Currently drive MB E350 estate & fed up of 80L diesel fill ups!
I have always loved the Fiat Coupe(1993-2001) & would love to electrify one as a daily driver & keep E350 for 'hauling'.
Positives are; they are relatively light, aerodynamic, fwd with transverse engine. Can be picked up as non runners for not too much.
However, i am unsure about negatives! I have concerns about storage for adequate batteries(I wish to retain rear seats). I'm not sure about the ECU & electronics- are they retained or dumped & how far can they be integrated with an electric system? Any feedback & advice plus electric drive train suggestions would be greatly appreciated 馃榿

Registered
This isn't specific to the Fiat Coupe (I've never even seen one except online, as they were never sold here), but with any transverse-engine front-wheel-drive car, there is now the possibility of using a complete drive unit (motor, gearbox, differential) salvaged from a production EV to replace the engine and transaxle. There are lots of factors to consider, but it is now an option.

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
This isn't specific to the Fiat Coupe (I've never even seen one except online, as they were never sold here), but with any transverse-engine front-wheel-drive car, there is now the possibility of using a complete drive unit (motor, gearbox, differential) salvaged from a production EV to replace the engine and transaxle. There are lots of factors to consider, but it is now an option.
Hi Brian, thanks for the reply. I was aware that the transverse engine meant slightly more efficiency, but your suggestion is very interesting. Would this route be much more complicated than bolting motor straight onto clutch? Can you give any pointers or suggested units please? Many thanks

Registered