DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi from the Scottish highlands, well not actually I'm a marine engineer so at the moment that is somewhere of the coast of Brazil, as ships internet is worse than useless I apologise in advance if I don't manage to get back to you all any time soon.

Here is the proposition I am not a huge electric car fan, I find the prospect of no engine and gearbox to keep a drive interesting a little on the boring side. So here is the plan I currently own and am currently returning to a road worthy state/restoring my 1972 swb 2.25 diesel series 3 Land Rover I am going to convert to soft top. Though I would like to do something abit different and challenging.

The plan: keep the original gearbox and engine but run it on either a 50/50 mix of veg oil and diesel or straight veg oil (haven't decided how to go about this one yet. In the interests of fuel economy though I would also like to add a plug in hybrid system to the car to alllow it to achieve a greater range. My thoughts so far on achieving this are as follows:

The electric motor would either augment the existing drive line through the transfer box pro connection or by a toothed drive belt round a special pulley put between the the transmission brake and the rear prop shaft.

Current thoughts are to run a 72v system with lithium ion phosphate batteries, these would power a LMC pancake permanent magnet motor or motors. For the reasons they are light and compact. There will be a few weight saving bits done to the Land Rover it's self.

These are just current ideas, the goal if possible would be the ablity to have electric assistance for 180miles, an unassisted range if possible of 30-50 and and unassisted top speed if possible of 60mph. I know with the system I have stated above this is probably not possible. Do you guys and girls have any recommendations for how I could go about this.