DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought it would be helpful for people planning to know what others have paid for what type and quantity of batteries if you wouldn't mind sharing please?

·
Administrator
6,105 Posts
Hi
I will start
I'm using most of a Chevy Volt Battery

I paid $1800 US for this at a California scrapper - on Car Parts
http://www.car-part.com/

Time I got it here (NZ) and paid GST on it it was $3,300 NZ

That's 16 kWhrs -
I'm using 14 kWhrs - I could only fit 6 off the 2 kWh modules and the 2 off 1 kWh modules

The KEY problem for people who are not in the USA is finding a shipper!

I used a local Hot Rod Import company that had a link to a Californian site

·
Administrator
6,105 Posts
Thanks Duncan, good info.

I presume 16KWhrs gets you around 100 KM/60 miles? (I'm still learning sorry).
I wish!!

My car is not very aerodynamic! - my range is more like 50 km

I haven't checked for a while but at 100 kph (60 mph) I used to use 200 amps at 120v - 24 Kw
That would eat 16 kWhrs is 40 minutes - 40 miles - 64 Km
But that would be the whole 16 kWhrs - and I'm charging to 90% and discharging to 20%
So 70% usable - 45 km?

I've actually cut down my frontal area a bit since then and I think I'm using less amps but my meter is all over the shop so I'm not sure

I just keep an eye on the battery voltage - Chevy Volt batteries have a usable voltage/charge slope

The old Lotus 7's were unbeatable below 100 mph - above that the aerodynamics .........

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
In Europe we can typically buy Leaf 25kWh packs for 2500 Euros and Tesla 80kWh packs for 11000 Euros. Transport within the EU is pretty cheap but end users will pay VAT (in UK 20%).