DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Average Joe
705 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is almost everyone here capable of doing machining work or are you having fabricators make your parts for you?

·
Registered
926 Posts
I think my video series speaks for itself on that subject!
I'm proof that somebody who can only change oil can convert a car to electric.

In short, yes, I use a welder and an engineer to do the hard stuff. I have learnt to remove metal with the angle-grinder though. Man is that fun! Must be the caveman hunter-gatherer in me but the sparks and smoke is great! :D

·
Registered
337 Posts
I agree with KiwiEV, I'm an electronics tech and if I can build an EV, anyone who has a passion to do so can. If you get stuck, just ask, someone out there has the right suggestion to get you started again. There are usually plenty of machine shops around that can help with more intricate items you might need. DIY, save some money and learn at the same time.

·
Registered
926 Posts
I've learned the hard way not to weld and grind in just my boxer shorts, but still my two favorite tools.:D

As far as parts go, just my battery boxes.

Later I'll be fiberglassing for the 1st time as well.
That's quite a mental image.
:eek:

I got a little spark burn on my wrist. I couldn't imagine a worse place - until now.

What sort of welder did you use? Did you find it easy?

·
Registered
207 Posts
Wire feed welder.

While practicing I discovered my artistic side:

Those interested in the above piece titled "Loose Batteries after Collision" are free to submit bids. It took about an hour of having fun by bang testing. That's where you weld some scraps and try to break the weld by sheer force (banging it around on concrete or with other chunks of metal).
Oh my welds are pretty ugly, think scars on Frankenstein's monster, but they should hold. (knock on wood..., er I mean steel).

·
Registered
6 Posts