DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to conversions and try to prevent typical mistakes. Currently I try to get a feeling based on theoretical comparisons to find the best combo.
The chart represent a VW T2b with CP gearbox, Curtis AC50 (96V). This combo is possibel - not the best.
Note: Peak power, based on converted torque values of HPEVS diagrams, which are not consistent. Rated power is much lower.

Explanation:

• blue curve is the drive resistance (wind drag, loss of gear box, wheel resistance, load of the vehicle, incline/ slope (0%)).
  • The other colors are the max power in the gears over speed.
  • If the gear curve cross the blue line it defines the max. speed in this gear.
How did you figure out your matching setup?

Attachments

·
Registered
4,891 Posts
I believe that you are already well above the level of sophistication of typical DIY project (electric or gasoline) in this analysis. Looks good to me.

I would add that in addition to illustrating the top speed, the available power in excess of the power required to overcome the calculated resistance is the power available to accelerate.

·
Administrator
6,137 Posts
Hi
Re-do your graph

You want to have torque and not power on the axis

Then you will be able to instantly see the amount of "extra" torque above the "steady state" torque that you will have available with each gear

·
Registered
4,891 Posts
You want to have torque and not power on the axis

Then you will be able to instantly see the amount of "extra" torque above the "steady state" torque that you will have available with each gear
Sure, that would be proportional to acceleration, rather than rate of kinetic energy gain... as long as you are doing torque at the wheels (or at least at the final drive input), not at the motor. And you really want it to be drive force (not torque), corresponding to what has already been calculated for "resistance".