DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've posted a few times on this forum and received very valuable feed back but now it's time for the rubber to meet the road as it were.

I purchased a 1959 Austin Healey Sprite a few weeks ago, which was converted to EV in 2005. It has a MES-DEA TIM600, matched to a MES-DEA 200-175 motor. I have finally acquired the TIM software (thanks to [email protected]!) so am already further than I thought I'd be.

The problem is that I know nothing about how the car was built, no schematics, nothing. The original lead acid batteries are dead, and only provided a 25 mile range when new so that's gotta change. I'm sort of flying blind here. To further complicate things, I'm brand new to EV... I wasn't really looking for an electric Sprite, just a Sprite. So I don't have much background knowledge in this field. I'm a DIY techno-geek so am pretty sure I can come up to speed but don't want to reinvent the wheel.

I've heard that MES-DEA can be hard to work with which has me worried. For example, even with the manual, I don't know exactly how to power up the TIM to even see if it's functional!

I'm prepared to throw some money at this project because the idea of an electric Sprite excites me. So my question to the community: Should just rip out everything and go with newer hardware which is easier to work with, or stick with the MES-DEA setup and see what happens?

Thanks for your thoughts,
Mark

·
Registered
6,237 Posts
I can't see any sense in starting from scratch if you only need a new battery pack. If you were to start from scratch, you might be better off with a stock vehicle than with someone else's undocumented conversion.