DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm looking at doing a bit different of an electrical conversion- I have a Jaguar that is on it's last leg engine wise. In looking at various options, I'm considering a conversion to electric drivetrain- However, I'd like to develop something similar to a diesel locomotive in function- I.e a constant speed diesel engine powering a generator to drive the wheels- with a battery pack to act as a shock absorber or buffer for short bursts of high demand.

I'm far from an expert in EV systems, however I understand the basics of electricity. Best I can tell, I could just wire the outputs from my diesel engine/generator unit to the charging circuit of the battery pack, with a protection circuit for overcharging and a start/stop control for the motor- For example going downhill and regen is on, there's no need for the generator to be on. Basically it would be a separate unit that would only charge- everything else would be handled by the battery pack.

My question is this- Am I able to charge the battery packs like that with no problems? Or do you have any experience with a hybrid system like that? Assuming I use a BMS. I'm thinking that (30) 180 Ah batteries and a 400 amp generator would be a good pair. Am I in the right ballpark? Because the current engine in the car is giant and heavy, it would only add around 150 lbs to the total weight of the car.

I'm liking the Curtis 1238 series of motors and controllers, (specifically the 1238-7601) and would be open to recommendations on batteries and other motors. I wasn't planning on running a differential on that has a ratio of 2.88:1 connected to the drive motor. That seems to work pretty well at a 29" tire, around 75 mph at 2500 RPM. Assuming no loss through the diff, (I know it would be some) it would also give me close to factory torque/hp figures.