DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am new here but have been building EVS for the past 17 years with a total of 57 conversions under my belt. With that said I will have to add that I am an excellent machinist and fabricator having built ground up SCCA GT vehicles for many years and that balloned into EVS but, I am not an electrical engineer and my conversion have been simple conversions using off the shelf materials using special fabrications. Now, I have already converted one bus into an RV that we used to tour the USA and made it all the way to Panama in before selling it to an NGO as a mobile medical clinic. I am now looking at doing it again and want it to be hybrid. I am looking at a 72 passenger bus with a custom 7.3 litre turbo motor in it (est. 12 mpg) and am toying with the idea of making it part time 4wd, but, I would love for it to be hybrid. I know there was a guy on here awhile back that had grandiose (seemingly) ideas of a full electric bus/rv, but, that is not me, I am based in reality (mostly). I was thinking of something like two netgain 13" motors in series using the EMIS system netgain had developed but George tells me it is not available anymore. So I am asking you all if you know of an alternative to achieve my goals or if anyone here has the knowledge and fortitude to assemble such a thing and knows someone that can write the code, for payment of course. I look forward to hearing from one and all.

·
Registered
4,765 Posts
While novel designs make interesting projects, success is more commonly achieved by generous application of R&D... and by that I mean Ripoff and Duplicate. :D

The hybrid medium-duty vehicle is a wheel that doesn't need reinventing.

From a previous (and highly related) discussion: