DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm buying random parts for the KTM Duke to get a rolling chassis together, then will start looking into the bateries/motors/etc... My aim is to build a fully faired track only bike, so that gets rid of a lot of complications, such as lighting, legality, registration, etc... Target top speed is 100-120mph and range is 30-50miles. Will be for closed circuit use only so the goal is to get maybe 10-15 laps on a charge. Not sure about the weight target, as I've never done this before. So, the main question, How difficult is it and how much would it cost? What parts would I need? Which is the best motor/controller combination for my purpose? If you have a link where I can get the answers It would be great too. Thank you! :D

P.s. I'm simultenously doing more research on the side, but figured I'd post here first, as you guys have actually done this s**t before :D

·
Registered
223 Posts
Most people who do bikes stick with a single gear / belt drive, so it's prudent to get a motor that has some decent RPM capability (>5k). This allows you to select a lower gear for good torque multiplication while still obtaining a good top speed.

Space constraints are the big issue on bikes. LIPO LiCoO2 battery packs tend to have some of the best power to weight but lower cycle life, but if this is an infrequent race bike... it might be an option to consider. They are also volatile and dangerous by comparison to other lithium chemistries, so I would learn before you take the plunge on those.