DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
After some initial research I would like to tackle converting my 73 Spitfire to an EV

Based on the Newbie Introduction,
I will answer the background questions upfront. (apologizing in advance fornthe length of the post)

Skill level:
Mechanical: High pre-1985, Medium post-1985
history: Started repairing cars and farm equipment beginning at age 9. At 12 Dave gave me a Chiltons manual and said I was reapinaible for keeping the cars up - he was tired of paying mechanics. At 13 was welding and fabricating, and Tried my hand at painting , but do not have the talent. Restored ariund 15 1953-1976 Cadillacs, Buicks, Mustangs, and now the Spitfire. All work done myself.
As an aside - I am an Electrical Engineer too so playimg a little outside my yard, but I think I can grasp the electrics. Rebuilt wiring harnesses, engines, clutches, more...

EV Range: I would like 150-200 miles prior to charging

Performance Level: Moderate - After all, it is still a Spitfire. But I am a performance junkie at times. I figure first cut aims for a little higher than middle of the Pack, , and I can upgrade perfomance as I better understand the tools amd components. With the immediate torque electric provides, the first cut will be grat anyway.

Investment: $7k..$10k for the EV alone (without the car cost, long since paid for and work already done - rebuilt suspensision, some other fixes). I willl slap myself later for putting that into a Spitfire. But it does have a soft spot from my military days.

Parts already considered: Too early to make a definitive list.
- Still absorbing differences in cost vs performance for drives,
- Still figuring out options for data collection and displays.
- Definitely would prefer CAN based data sensor reporting.
- Need to better understand wheel direct drive vs transmission connected drives,
- I havent even begun to consider electric vs mechanical steering.