DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to everyone who knows way more about this than me! I am by no means an expert of any sort, I just want to get involved because I feel like I really love this kind of stuff. Please help me out by finding someone who can help me converting my car (Nissan Altima 2016).

·
Registered
961 Posts
You will own the worlds most expensive “Ultima”

·
Registered
4,577 Posts
The most professionally converted Nissan is clearly the Leaf, based on the Nissan/Renault/Dacia B/V platform and done at the time of construction by Nissan itself, and available at any Nissan dealer. ;)

I understand the appeal of DIY projects, and I understand the appeal of an electric version of an interesting car (even it if costs more than it could possibly be worth to anyone else), but I don't understand paying someone else a fortune to make an ordinary sedan into an EV, rather than just buying one. Maybe I'm missing something...

·
Administrator
6,082 Posts
Hi Heemcool
Unfortunately Brian and rmay are correct

If you do the conversion yourself it will cost twice as much as second hand Leaf and be half as good

If you PAY somebody to do it it will cost MORE than a brand new Tesla and be half as good as a second hand Leaf

Think of converting as like "Hot Rodding"

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
If you PAY somebody to do it it will cost MORE than a brand new Tesla and be half as good as a second hand Leaf
This should be repeated every time someone asks, it's perfectly succinct.

And this is true of almost any car mod. You're lucky to get 1/3 of your parts cost back in a value increase, and zero for labor.