DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie. I have an old Land Rover I'd like to turn into an EV.

I may be able to get hold of a scrap Nissan Leaf. The batteries look easy enough to extract (explained here).

The motor looks powerful enough.

But - my goodness - having read all the relevant threads on here, making the whole system work once removed from the Leaf is way beyond my abilities.

Can I just use the naked motor, the naked cells, and a third party speed controller to wire something simple up?

Thanks very much.

·
Registered
4,752 Posts
Can I just use the naked motor, the naked cells, and a third party speed controller to wire something simple up?
In theory you certainly can run the motor with any 3-phase inverter/controller designed to run a synchronous motor at the appropriate voltage, as long at it can connect (perhaps with additional hardware) to whatever Nissan used as a shaft position encoder. Most readily available AC motor controllers are designed for a much lower voltage.

Although I haven't seen anyone stripping a Leaf pack down to the bare cells, stripping it down to the bare modules (of four cells each) and using your own BMS is practical - check out this for an example:
Leaf module based 150V 65Ah battery pack...

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
In theory you certainly can run the motor with any 3-phase inverter/controller designed to run a synchronous motor at the appropriate voltage, as long at it can connect (perhaps with additional hardware) to whatever Nissan used as a shaft position encoder. Most readily available AC motor controllers are designed for a much lower voltage.

Although I haven't seen anyone stripping a Leaf pack down to the bare cells, stripping it down to the bare modules (of four cells each) and using your own BMS is practical - check out this for an example:
Leaf module based 150V 65Ah battery pack...
Thank you so much.