DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Introducing myself and project.

I'm new to EV conversions, but have build several NHRA drag cars and muscle cars. My reason for doing a EV conversion are non topical but I'm primary trying to do something different. My goal is not to make a daily driver, but more in line with a senor citizen's hopped up golf cart (retirement is just around the corner) I have a 58 AH Sprite and picked up a running Taylor Dunn E-451 industrial tow vehicle. Installing the rearend/motor combination and wiring the controller should be very straight forward.

My big concern is getting more speed out of the vehicle. The tow vehicle is equipped with a narrowed up 9 inch Ford with 5.43 gears, 3:1 chain drive and 12" tires. It will tow 10,000lb at 6mph on 24vdc. The AH weighs less than 1500lb. I can easily change the gearing to 2.47 and will be moving up to 24" tires so that "In Theory" will get me to 26mph. Both the motor and controller are rated to 36v so I should pick up some more speed by switching to 36v(?).

So here is the big question can the series wound GE 5BC49JB399C motor which is 7" diameter providing enough torque to meet my speed goal in a 1500lb car. Motor's tag shows multiple ratings but 10hp 36v 2900rpm are the max number.

What is the safe max rpm for this type of motor if I were to update the controller.

Thanks in advance and feel free to correct me on any misconceptions about EV conversions..

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
What is your top speed goal?

Do you care about acceleration, if so what is your rate, e.g. 0-30 in xx seconds, etc?

What is the last line on the label--does it read time rating? That would be operating time in minutes at the full power?

The winding diagram would be good to see also.

in the 10hp config it makes about 38 ft-lbs, in the other two configs about 6 ft-lbs.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·