DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

My name is Dan, I'm a disabled/retired mechanical engineer

Last year I built an electric go kart to autocross using a Rotax RM1 kart chassis with 7, 20 AH lead acid batteies, a D&D SepEx 32A-50 motor and a 425 amp SevCon controller.

I was competitive with the 2 stroke karts even though I ran 100 lbs over the minimum class weight. I pulled very close to 400 amps at 84 volts and topped out over 55 mph

\I'm now building a reverse trike for the street from the ground up. It uses 1 inch 16 ga tubing triangulated with .050 aluminum sheet bonded to and riveted. (Think Lotus 7 construction) The front suspension is custom made with Fiero uprights and brakes, fiero steering rack, and custom made 4130 tube unequal length A arms, Carrera coil over shocks.

I'm using seven 185AH lead acid batteries. five of the batteries run down the cockpit's tunnel, between the seats. One is in front of the cockpit, the other behind. Bolted behind this cockpit is a 1983 Kawasaki GPZ 750 frame, swingarm and suspension.

I'm working on the body now, it is foam core with fiberglass and epoxy resin.

It's registered and insured but not inspected. The local bike shops are unsure what to do with it here in Maine. I have driven it a bit nd it will cruise at 55 mph. Based on my cycle analyst gage etc.. it looks like 50 miles will be a usuable range on secondary roads.

The aluminum clad chassis is very noisy since the motor etc... doesn't make much noise. I've got tons of looks wherever I go with it. I'll be adding an MP3 stereo soon.

It weighs 1105 lbs empty, I'm trying to work out the spring rates etc...
I could use narrower front tires, the 195-60-14 Falken azenas have too much drag. The std motorcycle rear tire holds the road very well.

I'll get some photo links soon

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
Sounds awesome I'll look forward to some pics. How about some pics of your kart, too?
Hello,