DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so couple of months ago I bought a used 335i for cheap. 130000 + miles. Paint work was blistered by the heat. turbos rattling and coolant reservoir was leaking. The thing is, I like the shell of the car, but I dont like the reliability of the engine.

I was recently thinking of selling the engine parts and such, and just converting to EV. I know BMWs and how to pull them apart. I have the tools and I'm a fairly good mechanic.

I'm hoping to get about 200 miles of range, awd preferably if possible, but I'll settle for rwd if it helps with the costs and range.

Enough torque to match 300-400 horsepower. Don't need more than 120mph top speed. Hoping to charge on generic electric chargers you find in parking garages.

The thing is, the car is automatic... Is this going to be a headache, and can I spend less than 10000 to get this done?

·
Registered
6,211 Posts
200 mile range, 120 MPH top speed, and 300 to 400 HP are all possible but they're ambitious goals; I doubt they're compatible with a $10,000 USD budget. The automatic transmission is unsuitable, but it may be the least of the challenges.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
200 mile range, 120 MPH top speed, and 300 to 400 HP are all possible but they're ambitious goals; I doubt they're compatible with a $10,000 USD budget. The automatic transmission is unsuitable, but it may be the least of the challenges.
Okay, realistically, what would I need? I saw an Audi S5 I think with the full tesla engine and battery modules. Does anyone know how he did that project? I'm willing to get rid of the transmission in the 3 series. All i need is drive, reverse and neutral.

·
Registered
1 Posts