DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The truck was originally converted to run on 20 trojan t-145 6 volt batteries. I don't have batteries on now and I am trying to figure out wich way to go.
I think I like the us batteries, they are a little cheaper.
The substitutes for the trojan t-145 are the us-145 xc, but I saw on their website that they have higher HA capacity batteries. I was wondering if i can step it up and buy higher rating batteries, can it cause damage to my conversion? I am not an expert, so please be patient with my ignorance.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Higher AH rating batteries of a given chemistry and nominal voltage tend to be heavier than lower AH ones.

To determine if they are safe to use, you will need to know the following:

1) What is the GVWR(gross vehicle weight rating) of your truck?
2) What does the truck weigh without batteries? If you don't know its weight without batteries, what did it weigh with the batteries that were in it? If you know its weight with the 20 Trojan T145s, you can then find out how much each T145 weighs, and gets the trucks weight without batteries.

You don't want to exceed GVWR. Exceeding GVWR could make your vehicle unsafe to operate, and in extreme cases, damage its chassis. Going over GVWR by a few hundred pounds is unlikely to damage a truck, but it may make its braking and handling characteristics suffer greatly, resulting in a vehicle that may not be safe to operate.

You also want to make sure your charger is up to the task of charging the batteries in a reasonable amount of time.

You will want to make sure those higher AH batteries will fit in the compartments designed for the Trojan T145s, otherwise you will have to design and install new battery boxes.