DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So here we go,
I plan on converting the jr. Dragster of my son to run electric,
Over here in Europe there is no single electric Dragster yet, so we plan on beeing the first ones to do something like this.
We don t run a championship, do runwhatyoubrung for the fun. Nevertheless we wanna build a competitive car , I ve see some cars on the internet , not much infos shared with them and a lot more than 10 years old, so for sure better technology available nowadays.

Maybe I should mention , i am a color blind mechanic , so i might show up with some questions you are shaking your heads about , so sorry already for this.

My plan is , I wanna buy a battery , not starting to build my own, I found only some Lipo packs with around 20ah , which should be enough for 1/8 mile run.
My concerns are, how to choose the motor ? 36 48 60 and 72 V are available around here, a lot of Ebike stuff beeing sold online
But how many watts do we need ?

Some are even sold as complete kits , Motor with controller , but I dont really get the point if this stuff is strong enough to seriously power a jr dragster supposed to go up to 85 mph at a later stage.
Is any of this stuff suitable for my purpose , or are all those controllers, motors and kits useless for me ?
I ve build some 36V 500 watt rideon toys for my sons with VW spit and bug bodies over them , but obviously this is a all different game.

Greets from Luxembourg
Sam

·
Registered
7,837 Posts
So here we go,
I plan on converting the jr. Dragster of my son to run electric,
Over here in Europe there is no single electric Dragster yet, so we plan on beeing the first ones to do something like this.