DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm converting an old Hilux pick up and am grappling with the battery pack design in terms of best configuration and BMS:

144 Volt system (HPEVS AC51)
Generation 1 Leaf Batteries
All in one single box on the back of the pickup

I'm not an electrical engineer so I want things as safe, simple and easy as possible. Ideally, plug & play, off the shelf and happy to pay the $$.
The 2nd hand leaf cells here in NZ are only $3.5k per pack of 48.
Weight not really an issue so will consider more modules to get better range, also there is no desire to optimize to the nth degree battery performance (apart from reliability and safety)

I would welcome any suggestions as to set up and BMS recommendations.

Thanks,

·
Registered
4,889 Posts
(HPEVS AC51)
Where are you planning to mount the motor? Directly replacing the engine, adapted to the original transmission?

Generation 1 Leaf Batteries
All in one single box on the back of the pickup
I'm not sure where you would put this single box. If the motor is in the stock engine location, or the stock transmission location, there will still be a shaft from the transmission or motor to the rear axle. Wouldn't that force the battery to be placed in at least two boxes, one each side of the shaft (and maybe one more under the hood or behind the rear axle)?

If you are planning to put the battery box on top of the pickup bed floor, that would work... but it seems like a shame to waste all of the functional space when there is so much volume under the bed floor to be used.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Where are you planning to mount the motor? Directly replacing the engine, adapted to the original transmission?