DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm a student from the technical university of Hamburg/Germany and together with some 50 other students I'm planning to participate in the 1012 formula student electric competition. Until August 2012 we want to finish our electric racing car. Currently we are in the concept phase and are having some troubles with finding suitable motors. According to the rules we may never draw more than 100kw from the batteries. We have decided to use two rear motors, so their peak power should be around 50kw. A good power/weight ratio and efficiency is very important and the price is not that important, since we have to get it paid by sponsors anyway… Could someone recommend us suitable motors for this purpose? I’d appreciate any tips
Lukas

·
Registered
7,834 Posts
Hi,
I'm a student from the technical university of Hamburg/Germany and together with some 50 other students I'm planning to participate in the 1012 formula student electric competition. Until August 2012 we want to finish our electric racing car. Currently we are in the concept phase and are having some troubles with finding suitable motors. According to the rules we may never draw more than 100kw from the batteries. We have decided to use two rear motors, so their peak power should be around 50kw. A good power/weight ratio and efficiency is very important and the price is not that important, since we have to get it paid by sponsors anyway… Could someone recommend us suitable motors for this purpose? I’d appreciate any tips
Lukas

http://www.uqm.com/pdfs/HiTor%20spec%20sheet%203.30.11.pdf

edit: I have no financial or business interest with this company. Regards, major

Attachments

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi, thanks for your answers.
I will try to contact HPEVS for more information on their motors.
The UQM Motors look really good, their disadvantage seems to be their high mass.