DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a bit of a puzzling situation I would like some advice on.

I have been running a warp 9 and zilla 1klv for about 3 years/15k miles.

I replaced the original set of brushes about 4 months ago with a set of National T300's and I seated them for a total of roughly 1.5hrs at 12v
(edit: I measured resistance after blowing out the carbon as described in the Netgain manual and I was happy, I don't think this is a ground issue)

Logged about 400 miles since they were installed.

Last time I used the truck I had a situation were I lost power and steadily could only push about 15kw, then 10, then 5 and all the way down to crawling not able to increase power above 1kw. A quick key reset fixed the issue and then it happend twice more (panicking and calling for a ride on my morning commute :()

I checked the zilla for codes and nothing was set, only "1111" No Error/Unknown state codes.

I checked the brushes and they are seated nicely and very smooth.

I have not been able to reproduce the situation but I was wondering if anyone else has experienced similar and has insight ?

Thanks
Dave

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't think its battery related, no LBV alarm went off and I don't have throttle reduction set up from the BMS. The pack voltage was right where I expected it to be (148-152v) during that part of my journey, under load and resting.
:(

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I reproduced the situation tonight, I drove about 7 miles and I suddenly couldn't maintain 45mph and had to crawl into a neighborhood and drive home under 20mph. Pushing a max of 5kw. Then had to do a run up my driveway after I "stalled" at the top not even able to push 1.5kw in 2nd. (lol maybe should have tried 1st :/ )

I'm starting to think its either temperature related, or triggered by high amp draw. Possibly even a pot box fault.

Any other suggestions ?

·