DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,
I am a teacher who has recently returned to SW B.C., Canada from 17 years living abroad. I've had an interest in building/driving an EV since the early 2000s, maybe before. I've plans for the el chopper motorcycle that I planned to build when I was in Korea, but never got around to.

I own, but can't register a Rumble ebike... long bloodpressure raising story.

I'd like to build an ev and am thinking of converting rather than building... but why?

1. Don't like the disposable nature of modern cars.
I don't like all the electronic bling in modern cars, ev or not.

2. I'd eventually like to take it to the Philippines, so being able to DIY repairs and maintenance is essential.

3. I like projects....

My current musing is elecrrifyiñ a car I've generally made fun of for ages... a pt cruiser.

A local ev company CanEV does a kit for the Neon which shares the drive platform with the PT.

The PT Cruiser can haul stuff when we need.

It's a pretty simple car. I can be had cheap... could have had a decent car with a manual transmission and a decent body/interior for $400...but missed out. Recently saw one for $200(not so sure of the condition).

The road to our property is pretty crappy, so I would like to put a 3-4 inch lift kit on the PiT, which I'm not sure is available.

If I use it just around town,a 50 - 80 km range would be good.

If we use it out of town, I'd need at least 250 km. Maybe that could be from a range extendiñ trailer that would double as home power.

Also toying with the idea of a EV Dune buggy (Meyers Manx style).

Like I say, lots of ideas....

·
Administrator
6,161 Posts
Hi Welcome

I would say go for the Dune Buggy - the PT cruiser would just be like a Nissan Leaf only more expensive and less useful

·
Registered
786 Posts
Hi Welcome