DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to this business and I am not a technician!

I recently decide that it would be nice to convert an old 1978 Lotus Esprit in an hybrid veichle.
Two reasons for this:
1) Try something different from engine tuning or swapping
2) Build a long range car with the handling of a proper sportscar.

The system architecture I would like to use is similar to the Lotus prototype of the Evora 414E
http://www.blogofcar.com/auto/2010/03/2010-lotus-evora-414e-hybrid-concept/

The idea is to have a small gasoline (or LPG), engine tuned to low fuel usage, connected to a generator
This will be the charger for the battery.

The electric motor will be connected to the existing gearbox and it will be feeded by the batteries

So, the small engine keep the batteries in charge;
the batteries run the electric motor.

The original car engine has 118 KW (160HP) and with this power the car speed was 125 Mph (200 Km/h)
So, more or less, this is the power I need.
Torque of course will be way above the original engine.

The question is, compared to an full EV, do I need the same amount of batteries?
May I save weight using only the batteries enough to run the motor at full speed while the engine re-charge the batteries?

thank you

·
Administrator
6,156 Posts
Hi Aquilante,

I hate to pour cold water on your dreams but you will end up with something heavier slower and less fuel efficient than the original Esprit.

The concept has a 47 hp IC engine - look at 47 hp - 35Kw gen sets - big and heavy!

A major manufacturer can make a hybrid work with marginally greater efficiency than an IC - but it takes millions!

You would be better building a BEV and mounting your gen set on a trailer for the occasions when more range is needed

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thanks Duncan, soon I will contact an italian manufacturer who actually build car conversion (from IC to EV).