DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,
I've been following the subject of DIY EV conversions for a while and am now making a start. Target vehicle is a Lotus Excel that I found for sale with the ICE bits (and some other bits) already missing. I've got some work to do to put the car back together and then I want to create the chassis as a CAD model and see what might fit - for example Nissan Leaf or Lexus GS450H motors, whether to aim for batteries in the engine compartment, boot, rear seat space etc.

Main interest is in "the project". I've no experience in EVs but quite a lot of experience in rebuilding and modifying classic cars in general. I have built a full engine swap car over recent years.

I'm hoping for performance that approaches that of the original car (160bhp), I am sure top speed will be lower but I'll be happy with reasonable acceleration up to 80mph and not interested beyone that. I'd like sufficient range for local use - let's say 50-80 miles. I work about 15 miles from home, nearest city is also about 15 miles, I live in Norfolk UK where it is pretty flat which probably helps. I'll still use ICE cars for long trips for as long as I can. So I don't really need fast charging for example, I expect it could all be done from home.

Budget wise, I am hoping I can do most of it over a few years on boy's hobby money and then stump up for the batteries when the end is in sight. I can see it is going to be more expensive than an equivalent ICE project but I'm hoping it will be usable as a daily driver once everything is ironed out.

Looking forward to interaction with the members of the forum!

Not expecting this to be a quick project.........

Gav

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
This is an earlier project: 1969 Scimitar GTE with 24V Alfa Romeo V6, Mazda 6 speed transmission, LSD etc. In total its the product of about 5 different vehicles. Goes like hell.

·