DIY Electric Car Forums banner

Low cost electric Beetle

25K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  jraub14 
#1 ·
Hi all

I am new to converting cars to electric so I have decided to do my first conversion on a simple, cheap VW Beetle.

By using a Beetle I plan on making the conversion a simple as possible as the Beetle doesn't have power breaks, power steering or any complicated wiring.

I aim to make this conversion as cheap as possible as it is my first one. My requirements are as follows: The car must have a maximum speed of about 100 km/h (60 mph) and have a range of about 50 km (30 miles)

I am not 100% sure on the voltage I need or the battery capacity. I am also unsure on the motor size and controller size.

I have heard of people using forklifts for cheap conversions. How viable is this option? What performance could one expect from using an average forklift motor?

I will appreciate any input and help i can get. If there are any questions or I need to be more specific let me know!
Thanks

See less See more
Discussion starter · #3 ·
Thanks!

I'm looking to start cheap, with led-acid. Yeah I've found a thread with about 200 pages so I've been browsing through that!

One of the main reasons I am looking at forklift motors is because there are no (or none that I've found) suppliers of DC motors suitable for electric cars in my area and it will be very expensive to ship one in.

Will it be possible to reach about 100 km/h with a forklift motor? How many volts can you feed them? Most of the ones I've seen are rated at 48v so will it be possible to use 72 or maybe 96 volts? Or what voltage would be able to take me to 100 km/h? (I understand that it is dependent on the motor as they are all different) From what i understand so far is that voltage gets you top speed and current gets you acceleration?