DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I took the prelude for a little drive on Saturday, but first some back story.

The Prelude conversion has a ~18 kWh battery of 70 Ah capacity and 270 V nominal voltage. It will soon be 355 V nominal, but more on that another time. I have a master contactor and a master precharge relay buried inside the battery pack. When I turn the key to ON, a 12 V delay timer was supplied with +12v. The precharge relay closes a 200R resistor across the master contactor 0.5 seconds before the master contactor closes. This mean the HVDC distribution box at the front of the car now has full pack voltage and is able to supply all HV ancillaries. The drive contactor and drive precharge relay are only enabled when the key is turned to IGN and held - after about 4 seconds the drive contactor closes. This is managed by the Greatland inverter.

The TC-Elcon DC/DC converter is supplied from the HVDC distribution box with a 20 A fuse. The converter won't supply +12 V unless the Enable pin is supplied with +12 V, which comes from a fused, switched supply. In this case it comes on when everything else comes on when the key is at ON.

Now I went for a drive down the hill and after stopping at the hardware store I drove on to a friend's house. I'd noticed the 12 V auxiliary voltage getting lower - it was sitting at 11.5 V. This suggested wither the DC/DC converter was dis-enabled, or was faulty. Great.

Anyway, after parking up and visiting a friend, I got back in to drive off - no dice. We pulled off the covers and tested with a multi-meter. Sure enough, we weren't getting pack voltage to the contactor. Towtruck for me...

I pulled the battery out of the car and checked the main fuse - blown. That explains why we weren't moving, but the strange thing is that the fuse was working fine right up until I parked the car. What would cause it to blow just by turning it off (or on)?