DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello Everyone!

I'm attempting to convert my 3rd Generation RX-7 into electric. I'm new to electric car conversion and this will be my first attempt. I have a lot of questions in my head and been lurking in the forum searching for answers and have posted and have gotten answers or directions to go next. This forum is great resource I think for newbies like me.

I've started the work last March and below are pictures to the progress to date. Be updating as progress continues.

New questions seems to arise as the project progress for me. By sharing my attempts and failures will hopefully get me up to speed with the know how on the electric conversion.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,779 Posts
I'm impressed: almost no one else has modified or fabricated a subframe to make a Tesla drive unit - particularly the large unit - fit in a stock production street suspension other than a simple semi-trailing arm type.

·
Registered
4,779 Posts
For those not familiar with this model...
All RX-7 variants are rear wheel drive, with a Mazda rotary engine in front. The "FD" generation of the RX-7 has a 5-link independent rear suspension, with a subframe supporting the final drive unit (differential housing) and tying the inboard suspension mounts to the body structure.

This builder has removed the middle of the subframe and replaced that part with tubing designed to fit the Tesla drive unit instead of the original final drive. The spaces originally occupied by the engine, transmission, propeller shaft (driveshaft) and possibly some of the fuel tank space are now available to contain the battery and various ancillary components. The fuel tank is behind and above the axle; it's not clear to me how much of that space is occupied by the Tesla motor and inverter.