DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Im looking into purchasing a first gen Miata to convert. I have some experience when it comes to working on cars (able to change oil, tires, radiator flush, remove both front and rear seats, change timing belts, change accessory belts, changing door panels, etc.)

I want to at least have a 100 miles per charge, and at least 300 HP. I also want to keep the cells as low as possible in the Miata. I plan on using a Nissan Leaf motor, coupled with a custom inverter (I have some options of what to use but open to opinions), Leaf DCDC Converter, CCS plug, and the use of either 18650 cells or SPIM08HP pouch cells. I have around 200 18650's that I'm currently testing, and about 32 SPIM08HP cells. I leaning more towards the use of the pouch cells however, due to their much higher MCD rate, and form factor.

Money is not an issue, and while Im not rich, I am more than content with saving cash up over long periods of time.

·
Registered
329 Posts
How are you using the Leaf DC-DC?

Paul Holmes (P&S Power Electronics) sold me a control board to use with the Nissan Leaf inverter for $300. I just got it running Thursday, and it seems very good so far. I think that's the easiest option. You dont have to pay for/build the power stage as the inverter is bundled with the 2013 Leaf motor, and it's as close to plug and play as you can get. The price is right, too.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5,028 Posts
I want to at least have a 100 miles per charge, and at least 300 HP.
I plan on using a Nissan Leaf motor, coupled with a custom inverter...
Hopefully you will only try to get this level of power very briefly, both because the motor would have cooling problems with any extended use, and because the battery won't handle it. You can only use 300 horsepower for a few seconds at a time in a Miata on the street anyway.