DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What about the charger tells the Volt when the portable, 110V charger is in use?

I would really like to not need to get back into the car to change the charge rate to 12A every time I plug it in.

·
Registered
5,028 Posts
What about the charger tells the Volt when the portable, 110V charger is in use?

I would really like to not need to get back into the car to change the charge rate to 12A every time I plug it in.
With most EVs and plug-in hybrids, the cord to plug into a common 15 amp 120 volt outlet includes an inline box of electronics which communicate with the car just like a wall-mounted or public charging station (EVSE), telling the car what rate is available.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Should I have mentioned that I have been an electronics engineer and designer since before Silicon was discovered in Cupertino?

·
Registered
5,028 Posts
Should I have mentioned that I have been an electronics engineer and designer since before Silicon was discovered in Cupertino?
Why would you?

You asked a question:
... and I directly answered it:
... the cord to plug into a common 15 amp 120 volt outlet includes an inline box of electronics which communicate with the car just like a wall-mounted or public charging station (EVSE), telling the car what rate is available.
"What" tells the Volt when the charger is in use is the EVSE in the charger, by the same method (physical connection, protocol... all the layers of the OSI model with which you are presumably familiar) via the SAE J1772 connection as any other EVSE. Since the portable charger is only equipped with a 15 A plug, this EVSE should be programmed to always limit charging to the corresponding rate (80% of 15 A at 120 V, or 1.44 kW).