DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Im no expert but thats an AC motor and as i understand it, you need the correct controller to run that thing properly.

I think you could be looking for a dc series wound motor perhaps?

20kw sounds a bit overkill for a narrowboat. I thought they ran on old 10hp diesels?

Also i thought narrowboats ran on 12v so perhaps finding a 12v would be best to save u having 2 battery packs. Unsure if thats possible. Question to the gurus...can u a 12v with high amp motors?

My friend has a narrow boat so im interested in this.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Ahhh.... your in uk, barnsley.

I went to see a 48v dc series wound today. It was in radcliff north Manchester. Much cheaper than this motor. I needed it for , a car conversion so it to small for me. But im sure itd be great for a narrow boat unless there is an issue with dc motors and water 🙂 let me google it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Squidlings
I'm fitting a whole new lead-acid battery bank etc, so going maybe with 72v.
Found an AC motor near me (I'm in Bristol) - a Juli 28V 174A 6kW AC motor. 1535rpm, S2=60min. £350, so quite expensive still.

Wanting to go AC for efficiency and reliability... thinking of using a Sevcon Gen4.

Does you know (or can point me to the right thread/member who does) about over-volting forklift motors? The potential issue is cooling I guess, but 72v shoud give ~4000rpm and ~12kW peak (for stopping, turning etc)

A 60' Narrowboat needs 3kW at 3mph and 6kW at 3.5mph apparently, big difference!

·
Registered
75 Posts
Im not sure an ac motor would be much more efficent in a narrowboat. You cant use regen braking. Thinking about it. You need high rpm not torque.

4000rpm sounds inline to replace a diesel.

Wonder if you could have a lower rpm and have a long gear. Then the torque would come into play.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6