DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hey everyone this is my first time posting here but i have read many forums here already n enjoy hearing about all the projects goin on

in my (future: just planning now) ev ill be converting a 1995 BMW 3 series 2 door coupe. im tryin to get it as good as i can within certain parameters such as

best range (tryin to get every thing as efficient as i can, hopin for 120 mile range)

good power ( 7-8 seconds 0-60 time, the weight of the car b4 converting is 3100 lbs with ICE intact)

Rev range of electric motor about 4500 RPM or more (will use transmission with clutch to get the car to highway speeds n keep RPM low)

budget: i would hope for around $20 000 after everything but if a motor/controller/batteries dont giv me this performance the budget can be increased

i dont care about really high RPM limit or weight of the motor but lighter is better.

i dont need reverse (transmission can do tht), and regenative braking is a bonus but not needed

top speed of the car should be about 120km/h (this speed should keep the car with in safe RPM range)

oh btw i dont need the a/c but i will be havin a loud stereo (wont use it all the time) n power steering is a must

thks everyone, i am a beginner but im sure am learning fast by using this forum

·
Registered
81 Posts
this is an E30 or E36?
I've run my E30's without power steering, they are light enough to not need it. Much better feel on the freeway too!

The more research you do about components, the more you will realize that every choice involves compromises. No vehicle is "perfect" unless you intend to spend $20k

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
its a e36 bmw
but if the motor is small enough to fit the controller (possibly batteries too) under the hood make the steering difficult at lower speeds (ex 30km/h)