DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I have been restoring an electric car that's been sitting outside for 5 years and is subsequently rusted and moldy. This is the car: http://evalbum.com/3379

Sadly, the batteries in it were only used about 300 miles before the car was parked. It had 12 Optima D34M for a 144V DC system. I've been trying to resurrect them, but only a few have shown any life and they still won't charge more than part way.

Anyway, I was planning on replacing the system with LiFePO4 batteries, but after reading a bit, I think buying a salvage Chevy Volt pack would be better. It would cost about a thousand less and I'd get about 6kW more than what I was going to order.

Although I have a lot of experience in electronics (computer engineering), I have no experience in electric cars. I would appreciate any help or advice. Here are my current questions:
1. Is this the right decision (getting the Volt pack)?
2. Can I make the pack a 144V system, or do I need to drastically change the car setup?
3. For a BMS, what's the best way to do this? I know people are working on using the Chevy one, but it seems like it isn't ready yet. I also don't know if it works given I change the configuration.
4. Can I use the Elcon PFC 2500 charger in the car, or do I need a different one?
5. Finally, I live in south Texas where it gets really hot (>100F) a lot of the summer. What's the best way to implement some form of simple cooling?

Basically, I'm just overwhelmed by the sheer volume of possibilities and opinions out there. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
385 Posts
Hello! I have been restoring an electric car that's been sitting outside for 5 years and is subsequently rusted and moldy. This is the car: http://evalbum.com/3379