DIY Electric Car Forums banner

Need help with Ford-Azure Transit Connect battery diagnosis

9531 Views 96 Replies 11 Participants Last post by  Ron_84
Hi i have a Transit Connect electric and one half of the batterypack wont connect/engage does anyone know soething about this cars anymore? i am suspecting the BMS but no fault code or anything is showing, ESS1 stays in "contactor state" as first picture shows for a while then it disconnects, ESS2 shows "xxxxC400" for just a second then it changes to xxxxC600 and contactor voltage shows up and the car is running on one half..

Thanks Robin
Computer Personal computer Azure Gadget Font
Computer Personal computer Azure Font Electronic device

ect,
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Ron I have same Azure 2011 with like battery problem. I trying about one year to resolve the problem but any success, and about one week ago i locate the damaged board. I don’t know what does it means (2-6) maybe second pack and board number 6, but I know, that all boards is the same.
May i ask why did you need the master BMS, what is the problem?
My advice: first check all cell tensions, if it present. Directly it is possible with TCBEV monitor, then check differences between cells, not more than 0.5V, if more it’s critical.
For example, this screenshot is my problem
Hi!

I have checked all 384 bolts :) also checked all 6 contactors, both precharge resistors and a some other parts too... all 192 cells are between 3.785 and 3.791, there are no internal fault codes in the two BMS so it always tries to connect but fails and stays disconnecteded after a while only connecting pack 2....

i have 2 Spare BMS one "A" and one "B" module, and one complete extra battery pack, also i got an empty battery pack with som bms slaves and other stuff...

When i try the other two BMS modules in the car no half wants to connect and it throws some other fault codes and that is making me suspect that the BMS modiles i have ar all broken exept one "B" module....


Motor vehicle Orange Automotive tire Automotive exterior Automotive design

Motor vehicle Automotive tire Wood Bumper Gas

Blue Cuisine Jewellery Rectangle Fashion accessory
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi so, start from the very beginning: we have two independent battery packs in hv battery. Each pack contains one master and 8 slave BMS and 96 battery cells (let’s say driver side is pack A and passenger side is pack B). As I understood you have the problem with pack B, same as mine.
Ok, mine experience:
1. All cells is good and tensions is normal, without dig differences ( not more 0.2V, more than 0.5v - battery faulty)
2. I changed master BMS from pack A to pack B - problem still active (so, master BMS is the same and good)
3. I changed slave BMS to each other and problem is floating only around one concrete slave BMS.
So, we can say that all BMS is interchangeable.
TSBEV can measure the tension of each cell and report it in this windows (look the screens) and generate the trouble code.
But you have no any codes, how it may be possible? May be wrench or turtle on dashboard?

View attachment 124748 View attachment 124749 View attachment 124750 View attachment 124751 View attachment 124752 View attachment 124753 View attachment 124756 View attachment 124755
Hi,

Yes i am fully aware how the two packs are built up :)

The problem i have is with pattery pack "A" driver side (lhd) every time i start the car it tries to connect both battery pack then pack A fails (with no error code in ess) and only pack B connects, leaving only one fault code in VCU telling me there is a problem i battery pack A... but ther is no fault codes in that BMS .... all readings and values are great in both packs... but i am thinking that when it tries to connect pack A it fails "to see the voltage" and stop the contactors .... that is why i think the main BMS A is broken... i am planning to build some extension cables so i can have the pack at the side of the car and is a little bit more easy to work with at the same time i am testing different stuff....

After pack A fails to engage the wrench and turtle shows up in the dash, VCU says "p0a1f" but thats all... no error codes in ess1 or ess2
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Have you TCBEV diagnostic program? you have many slave BMS boards, but where is master( big metal box) eee.., I need one slave:D:D:D
Hi

I have two spare (broken) master BMS and about 25 spare slave bms-board... and yes i have the software running to :) where are you located?
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I am from Georgia, Tbilisi
You post the screenshots, where we can see information from ESS:pack 1 and pack 2. I don't know exactly what does it means, but on left side of the screen must be information about each cell, tension. And if you can see pack1 and pack2 , i thinck, that master BMS is good, and may be you have older version of program
I can se all the battery tensions fine on both pack :)

i i dont know how much it costs to sent a package to Georgia do you want me to check?? i have not tested the slave BMS cards that i have....
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
I don’t know how much to Georgia, but 1kg. parcel on Sweden posten is about 325 sek
It looks like it will cost about 300sek to sen a package to georgia, i ca fix that if you want to buy one... i also might be able to test some slave bms-modules in about 1-2 weeks or so, i have just built some extension cabels so i can have the battery connected to the side of the car 😁⚡⚡
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #21 ·
Hi,
Very interesting log. Really, I am not expert, but I think, it is possible to say something.
Master BMSs, A and B, is working properly (they could read all information about battery).
Incomprehensible situation with temperature: ESS Coolant Temperature 5 °C., pack1 Hybrid Battery Temperature Sensor 0 – 6.889999 (DegC), pack2 Hybrid Battery Temperature Sensor 0 – 14.68999 (DegC).All packs is in one box and cooling with the same coolant. Why is it so different, maybe the cooling ring is clogged and BMS blocking pack? Need to check.
Leakage Resistance (Overall)- 192200 (Ohm), Leakage Resistance (Contactors Open)-1225800 (Ohm) for pack1 and Leakage Resistance (Overall)-338200 (Ohm), Leakage Resistance (Contactors Open)-598600 (Ohm) for pack2: small value, must be more than 1Mom and upper. Need to check HV cable and all connection. Will be good to try to change HV relays from pack1 and pack2 to each other, maybe contacts is damaged. Are there any signs of rust?
Contactors are the next thing i will test.... about the temperature is because i have had pack 2 fully charged and drove it down to the same level as pack 1... and the cooling system doesent run at all in this low temperatures.. thats why there is a difference. It was 5°c before i drove about 25km :) no signs of rust at all... and about the resistance🤔 pack 2 is the working pack, pack 1 with the higher value is the non working pack, the only difference i can se is contactor negative/positive voltage is always 0v on pack 1 and a sum of total ~320v on pack 2.... on yours log it is 0v on both sides??
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #26 ·
Hi,

Naa... its too cold in the garage🥶 have a new BMS 1 module arrived yesterday and are going to try that within a couple of days i hope :)
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #28 ·
I dont know if there is a differnce? all values are the same as my other one, unfortunately just a switch didnt work, but i will test to "top-charege" both pack to see if it will connect.
Motor vehicle Automotive tire Automotive exterior Wood Asphalt
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #31 ·
Computer Personal computer Laptop Netbook Peripheral
Speedometer Vehicle Odometer Tachometer Trip computer

Computer monitor Computer Font Personal computer Line
Happy days tonight!! i fanaly got my Azure dynamic running on both packs agan:D:D many many hours of testing and thinking and finaly it was ah software problem... flashed the BMS modules to 14,20,6 from 4,1,11 and it connected as it should both when charging and started the car.
 

Attachments

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #34 ·
Yeah, it felt good to hear all the contactors close in the battery :) car runs fine now, next thing is to fix the cabin heater🥶

I used the software TCE ECU FLASH INSTALLER 1.13.0 on a clean installed windows XP SP3 machine.

First picture is with old software and last picture is with new upgraded software.

send a message (Both iura and Danny71) to me and i will share a link with the installer :)

Font Computer Rectangle Display device Technology
Azure Computer Font Personal computer Display device
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #35 ·
Happy for you Ron 😃! I have been following your work for a few months now because my Transit AZD has the same symptoms. I have with the TCBEV software functional. I am also thinking of flash, because nothing solves my problem, my packs are not working and all cells are good. Can you share how you flashed the packs and where you found the soft you used? thanks in advance
Danny

Hi Danny,

Does the car begin to charge if you connect the charger?? it looks like some of your cells is really low on charge and maybe you have to manually charge them up a little bit??
also your TCBEV Diagnostic Tool looks old? what version are you running? are you able to check all individual cell voltage in your software? i have version 2.9 of TCBEV toll if yoy want to :)
 

· Registered
Azure Dynamics (Ford) Transit Connect 2012
Joined
·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #37 ·
Hello everyone
Ron, we are looking forward to the link with the installer. :)
Look, i found the Ford "TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN"; they recommended to flash VCU and DMoC too. What are you thinking about it?

Yeah, i read that article too :) i flashed the BMS-Modules only, not the DMOC or VCU to afraid to brick it :ROFLMAO:

sending you a link in a conversation.
 
1 - 20 of 31 Posts
Top