DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Thor four winds 28a RV
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just acquired an 28ft new rv. It's really bad on gas 8mpg and I was thinking of ways to improve its mpg. I was thinking to add 2 10hp electric motor with a pulley connecting to the drive train. And connecting that to 30 200ah lithium 12v batteries. Other than doing that I can look into inwheel for my rear tires. I'm new to electric car so I don't have much experience so if anyone can give me pointers.

·
Registered
1,759 Posts
Going to need commercial bus class stuff to push that down the road, aero efficiency is your other enemy.

Loose the AC & stuff on the roof, round leading corners, or just accept 8mpg because the efficiency mods should double the original purchase price.

·
Registered
29 Posts
The 'easiest' way to accomplish this would be a BAS hybrid system (aka "mild hybrid") which attaches an electric motor to the crankshaft via an accessory belt, just like the AC or power steering, etc... It would switch to 'generator mode' when braking to recharge the batteries and would apply power when accelerating at low speeds. I know there were several companies developing these sort of systems to be added on to large trucks for fleet usage, but I'm not sure where that stands today. I suspect that it could be done by a very capable DIYer (getting the system to work well with the ICE system would be very challenging, clever programming likely required) or perhaps installed for a few ten thousand dollars by a company which specializes in this sort of thing.

Likely it would only net you a few MPG, best case scenario, and be quite expensive. If this conversion is for purely financial reasons, I wouldn't bother. There are easier ways to improve the MPG of a combustion engine. Is this a diesel? Do a veggie oil conversion. Learn how to hypermile. Buy a "Vehicle limited to 50mph" sticker and stick to the right lane...