DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone, new member here, I am interested in building an electric boat. I am an electrical engineer by trade, but my experience is in microelectronics and wireless/microwave. I have very limited experience in batteries, power and energy, so this is surely going to be a learning experience for me.

It seems like there is a wealth of knowledge on this forum, so I am definitely excited to join! Looking forward to doing something cool!

·
Registered
770 Posts
The tiny energy density of battery storage means a normal boat can't roam too far from shore power or ICE recharging.

Need a decent margin built in for safety.

Hybrid is more practical but of course less efficient than direct propulsion by ICE.

Solar will not be a significant source unless the whole boat is purpose built for that, which is very limiting wrt the other usual design factors.

·
Registered
3 Posts
First time poster. I'm interested in the same general type of project. I have a mercruiser 6.2L powered boat, and I'd like to convert it into a hybrid.

·
Administrator
6,154 Posts
Hi Steve
You can have an electric boat BUT the power density of batteries is a lot lower than diesel or petrol
A displacement hull running at below "hull speed" would be OK for electric
But a planing hull would almost certainly eat too much power to be useful

·
Registered
5,028 Posts
First time poster. I'm interested in the same general type of project. I have a mercruiser 6.2L powered boat, and I'd like to convert it into a hybrid.
By "hybrid", you presumably mean a gasoline-electric hybrid. Were you thinking of the same engine, or a smaller engine sized for cruising combined with an electric motor for short bursts of higher speed? Either way, it is very different from a pure battery-electric design, especially as far as the battery is concerned.

·
Registered
5,028 Posts