DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I've followed this forum on and off for a while, and now I can say I have a project of my own!

I am an Electrical Engineer (with a Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering education) at a company that builds commercial EV conversions. Before this company, I worked at a place that built custom lithium battery packs and sold EV parts to the DIYers. I've been helping people build their conversions for a while, so it is exciting that I finally have something to work on myself.

I was recently gifted a 15 year old EV conversion that has been broken down, parked on the street, for maybe 4 years. It is a 1996 Subaru Outback that was originally converted to Lead Acid then later upgraded with Lithium.
Some specs:
  • Warp 9 powered by a Curtis 1231c (that I am currently having issues with)
    • Mated to the original 5-speed manual, keeping the AWD.
  • 144V, 180Ah LFP pack with a Lithiumate Lite BMS
  • Zivan NG3 charger & Zivan NG1 configured as a DC-DC.
  • A custom HV heater... that I am not going to test out.
My first goal is just to get it road worthy again, then I can enjoy driving it around town while planning & saving up for some upgrades.

So far I have replaced the 12V battery, and reduced the pack from 42S to 41S due to some very dead cells that were preventing the BMS from being happy. With just that I am able to now cruise around the neighborhood but with very little torque. The Curtis controller seems to be at half power with it maxing out at 250A to the motor. I think I have checked everything I can and am a bit stumped on how to get more power out of it. The batteries appear okay-ish for now. Having a dumb charger is a little problematic when you are trying to balance old cells.

Anyways, I'm glad to be here. If you have any experience with the Curtis or the Lithiumate I would appreciate any tips or help.

Registered
Hello & welcome 馃