DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New member checking in.
My background is 30+ years maintenance and testing in the nuclear field so I know a little bit about electric motors.
I have some done jeep and old truck restorations so my mechanical skills are around a 3, so I have the hands on skills needed to complete a project.

When my son first said "Hey Dad, did you see they are converting Miata to electric and they are burning up the track?" I scoffed. 'Who would want to do that?" (This is the kid who walked away form his last SCCA event with a fastest time award in his Gen I Miata last month) . So not wanting to miss another trend like personal computers or cell phones I started to get a little interested.

So they first question that comes to mind
How do you manage power steering and power brakes? I can see adding a vacuum pump for the brakes and a electric hydraulic pump for steering.

·
Registered
6,975 Posts
A vacuum pump is the straightforward solution to keep vacuum-boosted brakes working, although the pump is loud; Tesla did this in their early cars.

A few years ago the better system would have been hydraulically-boosted brakes (as have been used in many production vehicles with diesel engines or needing more boost than practical with vacuum), but the modern solution is an electrically-boosted master cylinder. The most popular electrically boosted system is the Bosch iBooster, used by several auto manufacturers, especially in EVs and hybrids, but there are other similar systems.

·
Registered
6,975 Posts
An electrically powered hydraulic pump from a factory electro-hydraulic power steering assist system is the straightforward solution for a vehicle with hydraulically assisted power steering which originally used an engine-driven pump. This works well.