DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,

I'm a new member, but have been lurking for a few months and have read countless threads. I'm in the process of starting my first conversion and need some input from those with more background than I.

Quick background: I'm an engineer by school and trade and a machinist by hobby. I have a small machine shop in my garage and have friends with just about everything under the sun. I live in a hilly area and want to use the car for a 3 season daily driver.

The conversion:
Car: 1976 Triumph Spitfire 1500 (running!) with 3.89:1 final drive
Motor: AC PM Netgain Hyper9 w/ AC-X1 SME controller from EV West (planned)
Batteries: ~12kwh, ~100v Gen 1 Leaf Modules (planned)
BMS: Orion BMS (very open to others)
Charge: Open to suggestions
Timeline: Driveable by 4/19, drive all summer, rebuild/modify/change/restore next winter.

Questions:
Drivetrain: My biggest question right now is whether or not to use the stock tranny. I really like the idea of direct drive and the advertised Hyper9 specs seem to suggest it would work (as well as several threads on here). Is this reasonable or should just run the stock tranny for the near future? For those that have done direct drive with the Hyper9, how is performance?

BMS: I'm leaning towards the Orion series simply because of proliferation and support. Is there something better out there for a 1st build? I'm pretty comfortable with most aspects of the conversion, but BMS is voodoo.

Batteries: The leaf cells seem very popular and there are good datasheets available online, but I'm still not clear on what sort of discharge I can expect. I'm thinking I'll limit my peak current draw to ~500-600A (for multiple reasons). Can a 4P28S (since they're 2P2S modules) handle 600A peak and ~200A cont.? I've considered building an 18650 pack, but the cost would be more than double.