DIY Electric Car Forums banner

New to ev air con questions

680 7
I have been converting a capri into an ev and the car came shell only, if i wanted to run a donor ac-climate control syst, from a duel climate car like the nissan altima 2014, the system is set up utilising the cars canbus etc as far as i can tell from the system schematic certain parts of the ac amplifier control module report to other ecus in the car, can i run the system independently if i get all the right components and have the climate system indepent of other car functions. Or will it not work as it will want can signals from else where. Im pretty new to canbus stuff but wanting a more modern feel to my aircon, sorry if this is stupid question new to forum and early days in my conversion but like getting my head around the tasks at hand first.

Thanks in advance
Rectangle Schematic Slope Font Parallel
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
429 Posts
Unless anyone has specific experience, I would say, the only way to find out is to try it in a working vehicle.

You could start unplugging the modules it might talk to, one by one until it stops working - whatever remains is what you need.

A better approach is to intercept the CAN messages where they go into (and out of) the Climate control. You might be able to decode them (with the help of one of the CAN Sniffing apps) - but mostly that's near impossible.

An approach that seems to work is to cut the can wires where they go in to the climate control. Then you need to buy / build a CAN Bridge. connect one port on the bridge to the climate ecu and the other to the rest of the vehicle. Initially it just passes all the data in both directions, as if the bridge is not there (transparent).