DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I am an retired Powertrain Development Engineer. I have been working on a new car design all aluminum chassis mid engine high-end sports car. I want to make the Powertrain EV not gas. I want to put reliable 700hp equivalent in EV. I am disabled from Iraq war I want to use an Auto Transaxle but I was told it is advised to use manual. Can I put a dual motors inline and double the power of the warP11 motors or how can I achieve this? Can I use a paddle shifted Auto Transaxle or do I need to stick to manual? Lastly batteries I love the Optima gel technology is this an economic way to go and how much range can I expect with 10 yellow top deep cycle? I know I am asking a lot and I want to say thank you all for your time and assistance.

·
Registered
4,791 Posts
I'm having a lot of difficulty reconciling the term "supercar" with the assumption that long-obsolete motor and battery technologies would be used, with very low battery capacity. What are your performance targets?

·
Registered
4,791 Posts
The viability of an automatic transmission depends on the type of transmission (traditional planetary with hydraulically actuated clutches and torque converter? dual-clutch?) and details of the controls. I think the specific motor should be better understood before worrying about the transmission, because a multi-speed transmission might not even be needed.

·
Administrator
6,120 Posts
Hi medic

What you want is doable - but not the way you are proposing

First - batteries - Lead is Dead - it's simply impossible to get "OK" performance out of lead - never mind supercar - and about 20 miles range is about all you will get - with a two year battery life

Second Motors
Warp 11's are just forklift motors - and you can get decent performance but they are NOT very sophisticated