DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just picked up my first Volt battery. I've been a Volt driver for a year now and love the car and now I wanted to tinker with the battery. I'm sure I'm not knowledgeable enough to really dive too far into it yet but it was a good price and I plan on doing my research before getting touching too much of it. I was told the car only had 10,000 miles on it but the battery had been sitting for quite some time. I dragged it home and pulled the fiberglass cover off and noticed that it's missing some of the cables and what I assume are the BMS parts that plug into the top of each module. I got the battery for 1200 dollars which seemed like a good deal but if I want to run a BMS in the future am I going to have a hard time locating those plugs? I have the 4 from the back section of the battery but not the front. I measured each 48v module at 45.5 on the nose and all the cells measured 3.801-3.803 volts. Without knowing everything there is to know I think that's in the acceptable range without being over discharged I hope. I realize I'm behind the curve to grab such a powerful battery but I've got a decent background in DC electronics but never with lithium and never anything this powerful. Should I call and complain about not getting the entire assembly or was my deal good enough that I should just be thankful for what I got?

·
Registered
255 Posts
New 18650 cells are going for $0.95 /Ah. Used prismatics from EVs are about 2/3 that price.

Assuming you got the complete Volt Gen I pack, which is a 7s12s3p+2s6s3p, with 288 cells, each at 15.4Ah, that would be $0.27 /Ah, which is a terrific price - assuming they all work and you got the full 288 cells.