DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1990 4runner v6 4x4 auto - 1990 Montero v6 3.0lt. 4x4 5spd manual - 1984 Patrol inline 6 4x4 5spd
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks, greetings from Santiago, Chile.
I’ve been surfing the forums on EV conversions for a few months since the engine died in my 1990 Mitsubishi Montero 3.0 gasoline 4x4 5spd manual.

From what I researched the cheapest and easiest way was the DC forklift motor.
Turns out forklifts here are diesel or propane and there are no salvage electric or hybrid parts available either.
Well I decided to go AC for regenerative braking and other advantages, but kits from ev companies are too expensive and I think not powerful enough to move this 2000kg brick shaped truck.

I’ve been looking for a salvaged leaf motor and parts in the US for my conversion. Any Ideas???

Now the automatic transmission died in my 1990 Toyota 4runner 4x4. Watching Damien McGuire's videos (highly recommended) I found his GS450h conversion.
Now that my EV will be my daily driver, I will probably convert the 4runner that is in better shape. (Montero not actual foto)
1.- I want to know if it if feasible to use the Lexus GS600h or L 110f transmission to keep 4wd?.
2.- The 3.slow engine in the 4runner is in good shape and I was wondering if it could be made a Hybrid with this trans.
3.- Looking for any suggestions and ideas.

Caco

PS I am interested in keeping 4x4 but not necessary.
Performance over range so I can add batteries later.
I have a 4 km steep climb to get home.
Wheel Tire Automotive parking light Car Vehicle Wheel Tire Automotive parking light Car Automotive side marker light

·
Registered
6,543 Posts
1.- I want to know if it if feasible to use the Lexus GS600h or L 110f transmission to keep 4wd?