DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

Just wanted to say hi to the community here before I post a thread about a conversion I'm planning in the near future :)

I'm a twenty-something electronic engineer from Bristol, UK and have been interested in EVs for a while now. It's been an aspiration of mine to convert something interesting and a little sporty to electric, and after flapping around researching stuff for a bit, I found this place!

I'd like to buy and convert an MGF - an almost-classic british roadster from the late 90s to early 00s. I found a couple of people that have (or are currently) converted their MGF's to electric. (Mark Newell in Australia, and Neil Hutchinson in the UK).

I'll post on the other sub-forum when I have a bit more of my research done as to what I can do with it.

Thanks for the platform & I hope that I can contribute to this community after I get my feet wet with the MGF project!

·
Registered
25 Posts
Hi mate,
I know Neil and his TF and we built our cars (mine is a Lotus Elise EV) at the same time around 2008 using a Ford Ranger EV Siemens motor and Siemens 6SV inverters which were developed for many car OEM's that were testing the water in the late 1990's.
They were entered in an EV event run by the RAC (Future Car Challenge) a couple of times before the RAC pulled out.

I had a TF until recently and planned to use some spare parts to convert it as it lends itself very well as an EV as it is a good looking car that is cheap to buy.

Having built another EV in 2012 by using a kit car (Vortex), I decided that along with my Ampera I have more than enough EV's to go round so sold the TF without touching it.