DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Always loved the look of those mid-70s Datsuns, and I've seen this done before, but I'm a complete newbie to EV conversions, and car mechanics/electrics in general (mostly worked on motorcycles before this). Lots of reading to do!

·
Registered
6,222 Posts
While the component choices all look like a historical snapshot of several years ago, it looks like they would likely work.

The peak power output of the dual AC-35 motor is comparable to that of the original engine, the peak torque is comparable to the engine's peak torque, the transmission would presumably be retained to keep the motor in an effective speed range (and hopefully it's a manual), the battery configuration would provide a suitable voltage, and the set of 48 of those cells would hold about 27 kWh (nominal) of energy which would be enough for the target range.

Despite the claim of 1800 amp (10C) peak discharge rate, I'm not sure that those cells could handle the demands. CALB USA do not list both continuous and peak discharge rates - they only list 2C (360 amps for these cells) as the "maximum discharge current". 360 amps at 154 volts is 55 kW, which is much more than needed to maintain even highway speed, but much less than will be used at full power (which will require about 1000 amps).

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
While the component choices all look like a historical snapshot of several years ago, it looks like they would likely work.
Like I said, I'm VERY new to this, so I'm trying to pick up info from a lot of sources, and some of those might be quite old. What would you recommend as more modern components? Super open to feedback and suggestions!