DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I found this board after a few hours of looking around for good info on conversions. I am looking at using the new LiFePO4 batteries and solar cells as well, my tercel is dear to me but the lower end of the motor went bad this last year. Info....

1. Would like to spend less than $10,000.00 over two years.

2. I have basic knowledge of mechanics, elementary regarding electrical.

3. I would like a min range of 50-60 miles

4. I like the idea of DIY, however I would use a kit if it seems to be the best choice.

5. What is the expected lifespan of an EV? Is conversion a labor of love or does it ever pay off?

6. Curb weight 2200 lbs., six speed manual (e-lo gear), no power steering, no A/C, hyd brakes, 13 gal gas tank under wagon floor, HP
62 @ 5,200, torque 76 @ 2,800.

·
Administrator
6,157 Posts
Hi Stick

Welcome to the forum
project sounds doable
- have a look at the Forklift motor sticky at the top of the electric motors forum

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
DC Motor
HP: 50
RPM: 1750 / 2100
Type: CD 365AT
This motor was completely rebuilt by a qualified company and was stored as a standby. It has not been installed since rebuild.
Shaft dimensions : 4 7/8" long x 2 3/8" wide
Center of shaft to base of motor : 9"
@font-face { font-family: "Cambria Math"; }@font-face { font-family: "Calibri"; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 10pt; line-height: 115%; font-size: 11pt; font-family: "Calibri","sans-serif"; }.MsoChpDefault { }.MsoPapDefault { margin-bottom: 10pt; line-height: 115%; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }​