DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Straight up, I'm a complete N00b, but I'am considering de-ICEing a salvage 350z I recently bought and then using a cheap Leaf as a donor car for parts.

I have no experience of conversion jobs and little-to-none electrical experience, but have I some priors with cars, access to a garage and a bud with plenty of experience when it comes to conventional motors.

Is there any 'simple' transplant or plug-in-play solutions for a straight transfer of parts out of a Leaf and into a conversion?

·
Registered
4,928 Posts
Straight up, I'm a complete N00b, but I'am considering de-ICEing a salvage 350z I recently bought and then using a cheap Leaf as a donor car for parts.
It's always worth having a look at what others have already done with similar parts (donor and EV components).

Chris started the project described in Tesla Powered Nissan r32 skyline as a 350Z conversion, then switched to the Skyline body. Before the switch, he described some of his plans. Although the Skyline is mechanically similar to the 350Z, he decided to not use any Nissan rear suspension or powertrain parts at all, and is now putting in a Tesla drive unit, so the current version of the project won't help you with a conversion using Leaf parts at all.

Nuts&Volts is working on a 300ZX Electric Conversion. Again, this is mechanically similar to a 350Z, and he is using a Leaf motor.

Is there any 'simple' transplant or plug-in-play solutions for a straight transfer of parts out of a Leaf and into a conversion?
No. Sorry, but while this can certainly be done, there are complications in any of the various possible approaches.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's always worth having a look at what others have already done with similar parts (donor and EV components).