DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 124 Posts

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,

I am relatively new to this whole thing but wanted to own an electric car for a long time! In fact, I am in line for Tesla Model S delivery sometime in ...2013. But my wife and I have decided that we can't wait that long and that's why we just bought our donor car - a 1977 Fiat 124 Spider. Always had a soft spot for Italian cars and the right kind of California rust-free, bright-red beauty just came along... Runs good so I might not be getting a dead-engine super-deal some of you guys are getting but I figured I'd just try to sell the engine, etc. on craigslist.

My target parameters (edited from the original design):
* Range: 60+ miles (with 50% of those miles on the freeway)
* top speed: 65 (to be able to go on the freeway)
* 0-60mph: less than 6s
* clutch and transmission stay in
* donor car weight is ~2000lbs, I intend to stay under 2500 once all the batteries etc are in.

So after reading a bunch of stuff here, doing some more online research and reading a "Build Your Own Electric Vehicle" book, I have tentatively decided on the following "Big3":
1. Kostov 11" motor
2. Soliton1 340V/1000A controller
2. LiFePo4 192V 100Ah pack.

I was thinking of buying motor and controller and some related parts from EV Source (evsource.com), and batteries from ElitePowerSolutions.com (they seem to have good prices for complete systems).

I know 11" is probably an overkill for this small car but I am thinking to maybe upgrade its tranny later and for now run with controller limited at 500A or something like that. My other car is a tuned BMW 335xi (400+ whp) so I do place some premium on performance LOL :)

I have some good basic EE and CNC machining skills / experience and am planning to make a lot of things like battery racks, motor coupling plates etc. Maybe even chargers etc if I can't get a good deal from the vendors.